Home » Elements of the Zodiac

Elements of the Zodiac

by Diamond
0 comment
astrology blog

Astrology uses classical four elements, which are now applied to the 12 signs of the Zodiac – air, water, fire, earth. Each element has its qualities and is associated with 3 signs of the Zodiac. The characteristics of these signs also correspond to the attributes of elements. Get to know more about the 4 elements of the Zodiac in Astrology!


The three air signs are Gemini, Libra & Aquarius. Astrologically, the element of air is mental. For people in whom the air element predominates, ideas and communication are the most important aspects of human life. Gemini’s airy nature typically manifests as the ability to understand, utilize, and communicate facts. Geminis are also natural teachers and communicators. Libra’s airiness is expressed as the ability to make comparisons, by weighing and balancing. This sign has a highly developed social nature that makes Libras talented hosts and insightful psychologists. Aquarius’s airy quality appears as intuition and the ability to understand universal principles. Aquarius also has a natural inclination to work with others for the uplifting of humanity. Negatively, air people can overthink and may be too verbal.


Three water signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. Astrologically, water refers to sensitivity, intuition, emotion, and fluidity. Water-sign sensitivity can manifest as artistic sensitivity, psychic sensitivity, or sensitivity to others. This element also embodies the traits of compassion, nurture, and protection. Cancer‘s watery nature typically manifests as feelings about home, security, and family. Scorpio‘s emerges with strong feelings about sex, death, and occult mysteries. Pisce‘s watery nature appears as mysticism, sensitivity to music, and impressionability. Negatively, water people can be moody, depressed, emotionally grasping, and possessive.


The three fire signs are Aries, Leo, Sagittarius. Astrologically, fire refers to activity. Fire sign activity can manifest as inspiration, energy, and leadership. For people with a predominance of this element, action is the most important aspect of life. The activity of the fire element shows itself somewhat differently in each of the 3 signs of fire. Aries’s fiery nature typically manifests as bravery, curiosity, and originality. Leo’s comes through in the qualities of leadership and acting ability. Sagittarius’s fiery nature emerges as striving upward toward high social or religious ideals. Negatively, fire people can be egoistical, pushy, excessively concerned about the opinions others hold of them.


The earth signs are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. Astrologically, earth refers to practicality. Earth sign practicality manifests as an aptitude for the financial and material dimension of life. Taurus’s earthy nature emerges as interest and skill in the accumulation of material resources. Virgo’s comes through attention to details, attention to physical health, and the ability to construct material objects. Capricorn’s earthy nature typically manifests as the talent to manage the business. Negative earth people can be so practical that they miss the other dimensions of life. Excessive earth in a chart may indicate an individual who is materialistic, insensitive, and unimaginative.

Elements of the Zodiac is only one characteristic of the Chart, but it can give quite useful insights about the nature of individual. Each Chart also has all 12 signs, but the influence can vary, and the dominations of the elements might differ. The more planets you have in any of the element, the more dominant is the energy of the element in your life.

Get in touch with me storyinyourstars@gmail.com ♥

You may also like

Leave a Comment